Older News  » 2014 SRC Inducted

Last updated 6:48 AM on 25 February 2014

Tamika Rourke and her mother Samantha at the SRC induction ceremony.

Parkview's 2014 Student Representative Council (SRC) has been inducted following a ceremony at school recently, recognising the democratic leaders of the school's student body for the new school year.

SRC Coordinator, Mrs Cathy Dando said the SRC formed an important conduit between the children of the school and other committees who contribute to the running of the Parkview community. "2 students from every class Year 2 and up were elected by peers, forming an important platform in the decision making process of the school and providing students with a clear voice in the community. The children meet regularly, usually on the third Monday of every month and have their minutes shared with the P&C at their monthly meeting which ensures their voice is heard. It is a great educational process for our young leaders as well!"

The school's elected captains Cooper Holmes and Bree McKellar along with vice captains Dylan Browne and Kate Balaz fill the executive rolls of the SRC, with all class representatives attending meetings with information gained from in-class meetings with peers.

Today at the 9.20am Assembly we inducted our 2014 Student Representative Council. Students were elected by their peers last week and were presented with the badges by their parents in a ceremony this morning.

The first fundraiser planned by the Parkview SRC for this is a crazy hair day to support Cancer Research. 

The full list of the Parkview PS SRC Representatives for 2014 includes:

1/2C- Jacob Keech

2M- Tamika Rourke & Hayden Gilmour

2T- Jesse Watson & Danica Riznic

3T- Chelsea Berney-Paterson & Bryce Robinson

3/4H- Moe Lloyd & Tyler O'Connell

4H- Lilly Davies & Charlie Longhurst 

5MI- Zoe Locke & Jai Patten

6C- Tayah Preston & Braydon Coghill