Older News  »  League Team creates their own history!

Last updated 9:41 AM on 31 March 2015

Christian MacGregor breaks the line against Narrandera PS

Parkview Public School's Rugby League team has created a small slice of history for itself, winning the LNPSSA Knockout at the No. 1 Oval on Monday, the school's first Rugby League title since winning the Mortimer Shield in 2004.

On a perfect day for Rugby League, Parkview were drawn against defending champions Narrandera PS in a Round 1 encounter and jumped out to an early lead thanks to a darting run from dummy half from Tyler O'Connell who scored beside the uprights and converted his own try. Narrandera bounced back to score next but to solo tries from close to the line either side of half time by Thomas Heins gave Parkview breathing space and despite a late try from Narrandera, Riley Bradshaw sealed the win for Parkview to secure a place in the final against Leeton PS.

Final Scores

Parkview PS 24 (Tries: Thomas Heins 2, Tyler O'Connell, Riley Bradshaw; Conversions: Tyler O'Connell 4/4)

Narrandera PS 10

(Half Time 12-6)

The final was a fast paced affair, with both teams defence dominating early. Brandon Crowe broke the deadlock with a withering run from dummy half to score the first try, only to see Leeton PS make a burst down the left side and level half time scores at 4-4

The second half was much more open as the heat began to take it's toll on the defence of both teams. Parkview scored under the posts thanks to some impressive play from Riley Bradshaw, before Leeton PS won a try line scramble to again lock the scores at 10-10. Josh Martin, Tyler O'Connell, Riley Bradshaw, Corey Axtill and Codey Browne then lifted their intensity for Parkview, Axtill laying on a great pass to send Christian MacGregor away to score, before Axtill again made an impact, running from dummy half 40m from the Leeton line, defying mulitple tacklers before bursting over to seal a memorable victory in a thrilling contest 22-10.

Parkview will now contest the Riverina Quarter Finals of the Classic Shield in May.

Final Scores

Parkview PS 22 (Tries: Brandon Crowe, Riley Bradshaw, Christian MacGregor, Corey Axtill; Conversions: Tyler O'Connell 3/4)

Leeton PS 10

(Half Time 4-4)

In further Rugby League news, three Parkview students have been selected to contest the Riverina Championships next term. Josh Martin (Opens), Riley Bradshaw (11s) and Thomas Heins (11s) will represent LNPSSA-Griffith at the Championships.