Older News  » Parkview go down in Girls Soccer Final thriller

Last updated 5:00 PM on 20 March 2012

Parkview PS Girls team after the final.


The Leeton-Narrandera PSSA Girls Soccer Gala Day has been won by Leeton Public School after a narrow 1-0 victory over Parkview PS in a pulsating final the Parkview School Oval.

Both teams progressed to the final after emphatic round one victories, Leeton overwhelming Small Schools 5-0, while Parkview were just as impressive in their 3-0 shut out of Narrandera PS.

In the opening game, Parkview maintained dominant field position against Narrandera PS. Tess Staines was everywhere in attack for Parkview and scored the opening goal. Carley Graham scored a double for the hosts in a brilliant second half while Brodie Jones-Grieve and Anisa Cook were outstanding in defence. Gemma Higgins, Irish Sasing and Shelley Greatz all stood out as the final score finished at 3-0.

The final was a dour affair, with both defences dominating. The break through for Leeton PS came with 8 minutes left on the clock, an own goal proving the definitive moment between two evenly matched teams. For Parkview, Siarne Deeves was outstanding in the midfield while Carley Graham and Tess Staines proved difficult to contain. Brodie Jones-Grieve and Anisa Cook were again terrific in defence while Hayley Graham and Acadia Lee also made please contributions to the team.

At the conclusion of the day the LNPSSA team for the Riverina Championships was selected, with a record 7 Parkview students earning representative honours.


Round 1

Leeton PS 5 (Isabella Hopwood 9', Jorgy Eglington 10', 21', Georgia Saddler '12, Cate Mooney '22)

Small Schools 0


Parkview PS 3 (Tess Staines 8', Carley Graham 17', 27')

Narrandera PS 0


3rd v 4th Playoff

Small Schools 1 (Hannah Bennett '17)

Narrandera 0



Leeton 1 (own goal 22')

Parkview 0


Leeton-Narrandera PSSA Representative (to contest Riverina Championships):

Siarne Deeves (Parkview PS), Tess Staines (Parkview PS), Anisa Cook (Parkview PS), Gemma Higgins (Parkview PS), Carley Graham (Parkview PS), Irish Sasing (Parkview PS), Brodie Jones-Grieve (Parkview PS), Jorgy Eglington (Leeton PS), Vy Owen (Leeton PS), Isabella Hopwood (Leeton PS), Georgia Saddler (Leeton PS), Grace Korovata (Leeton PS), Promise-Me Robin (Leeton PS), Cate Mooney (Leeton PS).