Older News  » Parkview involved in thrilling Basketball contests

Last updated 7:31 AM on 26 February 2012

The Leeton-Narrandera PSSA hosted its annual Basketball Knockout Day at the Narrandera Stadium on Friday, with a large crowd on hand to witness some thrilling basketball across both male and female competitions.


The knockout format of the competition determined not only the local school to progress to the 5th round of the NSWPSSA Knockout competition, but also served as a selection trial for the LNPSSA Representative teams that will contest the Riverina Championships at Albury Stadium on March 5.


The girls competition featured some close fixtures, with Parkview playing two outstanding games on the day.


In the opening game Parkview recorded and impressive 52-8 victory over an enthusiastic Small Schools combination. Alanis Wortley led all scorers with 14 points while the Graham sisters Hayley (12) and Carley (10) proved a difficult combination to curtail. Others to standout for Parkview in the victory were Tess Staines, Emily Russell, Brodie Jones-Grieve, Gemma Higgins, Siarne Deeves and Shelley Greatz.


The victory set up a thrilling contest in the grand final, the large and vocal crowd on the edge of their seats right until the final whistle, Leeton PS recording a 2 point victory. The result was much closer than what seemed likely early in the match, with Leeton PS racing out to a 10-0 lead by quarter time thanks to some brilliant work inside from Jane Rhodes and some skilful finishing from Jenna Elliott.


The Parkview comeback was sparked by the Graham sisters Carley and Hayley who controlled the mid-court, while Alanis Wortley took control of the boards, joining Elliott as the leading scorer with ten points for the match. Parkview narrowed the half time deficit to 14-8, and closed to within 2 at three quarter time as the speed of Tess Staines and the defensive pressure of Siarne Deeves and Emily Russell a feature.


The final quarter was brilliant basketball from both teams, Parkview coach Mrs Chilko encouraging the team to do their best, and with 2.30 left on the clock Brodie Jones-Grieve sunk a clutch basket to tie the scores away at 22 all.


In a tense finale, the schools traded baskets to again have the score locked at 24, before some calm finishing by Leeton's Jenna Elliott gave Leeton PS the lead. With 9 seconds on the clock, Parkview regained possession, the buzzer sounding as Tess Staines raced down the court in possession, just running out of time to complete a final shot. The victory gave Leeton PS a deserved place in the next round of the knockout.

For Parkview, their was consolation with 4 students (Alanis Wortley, Hayley Graham, Carley Graham and Tess Staines) selected in the LNPSSA Representative squad to contest the Riverina Championships at the Albury Stadium on March 5th.

In the Boys division, Parkview played to fixtured for two narrow losses. In the opening game Parkview were drawn to play Small Schools (a combination of students from Yanco PS, Wamoon PS, Whitton PS and Murrami PS). The match was close fixture throughout, Small Schools eventually prevailing by 3 points.


Parkview were scoreless in the first quarter, but lift their attacking presence in the second quarter to trail 6-10 at half time with Rhett McGregor proving a handful in the attacking half of the court.


Both teams traded baskets throughout the second half, with Matthew Lord, Brandon Hollies, Dylan McKellar and Brayden Ingram all playing well. The final score was a well deserved 15-12 win to Small Schools. 


IN the 3rd vs 4th Playoff Parkview faced off with host school Narrandera PS, with the locals proving to skillful in the attacking part of the court recording a 15-2 victory. Rhett McGregor was the only scorer for Parkview while Paul Poto, Koby Watts, Bryce Watts and Michael Keech all played well for Parkview.

Thanks is extended to all of the parents who travelled to Narrandera and supported the children for the event. 


Girls Division

Leeton PS 12 (Jorgy Eglington 6, Jane Rhodes 2, Makayla Broadbent 2, Felicity Allen 2)

Narrandera PS 8 (Tiana Rose 4, Kaylah Faulkner 4)


Parkview PS 52 (Alanis Wortley 14, Hayley Graham 12, Carley Graham 10, Emily Russell 8, Siarne Deeves 4, Tess Staines 2, Brodie Jones-Grieve 2)

Small Schools 8 (Hannah Bennett 4, Riley Cowling-Jones 2, Julie Davis 2)


Knockout Final

Leeton PS 26 (Jenna Elliott 10, Georgia Saddler 8, Jorgy Eglington 4, Tamara Bartram 2, Olivia Winnell 2)

Parkview PS 24 (Alanis Wortley 10, Tess Staines 6, Hayley Graham 4, Carley Graham 2, Brodie Jones-Grieve 2)


3rd v 4th Playoff

Narrandera PS 52

Small Schools 2


Boys Division

Small Schools 15 (Dion Warren 8, Ryan Pitt 3, Joel Garth 2, Oswald Herrmann 2)

Parkview PS 12 (Rhett McGregor 4, Paul Poto 4, Matthew Lord 2, Brandon Hollies 2)


Leeton PS 37 (Braxton Wallace 10, Shane Nikoro 9,Cooper Sharman 6, Thomas De Paoli 6,  Koby Eglington 4, Kody Collins 2) 

Narrandera PS 8 (Toby Warren 4, Rowan Matthews 2, Ashley Deavle 2)


Knockout Final

Leeton PS 54 (Braxton Wallace 22, Koby Eglington 8, Tim Sidebottom 6, Cooper Sharman 6, Kody Collins 6, Shane Nikoro 4, Thomas De Paoli 2)  

Small Schools 7 (Ryan Pitt 5, Dion Warren 2)


3rd v 4th Playoff

Narrandera PS  15  (Rowan Matthews 9, Toby Warren 6)

Parkview PS 2 (Rhett McGregor 2)








Leeton-Narrandera PSSA Representative Teams to compete at Riverina Championships

Girls                                                      Boys

Jenna Elliot – Leeton PS                      Cody Collins - Leeton PS                        

Jorgy Eglington – Leeton PS                Braxton Wallace - Leeton PS                        

Jane Rhodes – Leeton PS                    Tim Sidebottom - Leeton PS                        

Tess Staines – Parkview PS               Koby Eglington - Leeton PS                        

Alanis Wortley - Parkview PS           Shane Nikoro - Leeton PS                        

Hayley Graham – Parkview PS          Thomas De Paoli - Leeton PS                        

Carley Graham - Parkview PS            Ryan Pitt – Yanco PS

J'Aime Pettigrew – Narrandera PS       Dion Warren – Yanco PS

Tiana Rose – Narrandera PS