News  » Parkview's Girls Claim first AFL Title!

Last updated 12:20 PM on 11 June 2017

Parkview's representative boys and girls AFL teams have enjoyed a fantastic day at the Tony Lockett Shield/Paul Kelly Cup AFL Gala Day hosted at the Griffith Exies Oval last Friday.


All Parkview Reps at the MIA AFL Gala Day.


It was a historic day for our community with our Girls Team (Parkview Pirates) winning our first ever AFL title after a series of brilliant performances throughout the day. We entered two teams on the day with the Parkview Penguins also producing some excellent football that led to them finishing third in their pool with one win from three games played.


The Parkview Pirates finished top of their group and had to defeat last year's champions Griffith PS in the Semi Final which was a physical encounter before facing 2015 champions Leeton PS in the final.


From the start of the match Parkview combined excellent endeavour and ball use with strong defence to place their opponents under pressure. A strong first half saw Parkview lead by 10 points at half time thanks to some excellent work in the midfield from Molly Gilmour, Tamika Rourke and Madeline Irvin. Parkview's attacking players were also proving a handful for their opposition with Shay Bandy, Mikayla Bradshaw and Kristen Bradshaw all hitting the scoreboard for the Pirates.


The second half was a tense affair however continued application and miserly defence led by Shaylan Protheroe, Tatum Marks and Makayla Connell ensured Parkview were able to secure the title for the first time ever by 11 points!


Final Scores:

Round 1

Parkview Pirates  7.6. (48)                                 Parkview Pengiuns              0.1. (1)

Hanwood PS          0.1. (1)                                   Yenda PS                           7.8. (50)


Round 2

Parkview Pirates  13.9. (87)                               Parkview Penguins              6.3. (39)

Narrandera PS      0.1. (1)                                   Beelbangera Bats               0.0. (0)


Round 3

Parkview Pirates 6.9. (45)                                  Parkview Penguins              0.0. (0)

Beel. Bears            1.2 (8)                                    Leeton PS                          9.10. (64)


Semi Final

Parkview Pirates  6.10. (46)

Griffith PS              1.1. (7)


Grand Final

Parkview Pirates 5.5. (35)

Leeton PS           3.6. (24)                


Our boys team qualified for the final for the second consecutive year and were again defeated in a thrilling match against Griffith East PS. Trailing by 1 point at half time, Parkview hit the front with just 3 minutes remaining in the match after Thomas Heins threaded a pressure goal from the boundary line, but were unable to maintain their ascendency, losing by just 4 points.


Parkview had brilliant players all over the ground with Jaxon Ryan, Tallis McMillan, Mason Boardman and Liam McPhee all outstanding in the midfield, while Blake Ryan and Codey Schmetzer were strong in defence and Cody Browne and James Rourke menacing in attack.


We are proud of all the boys who represented our school with such distinction and extend our thanks to the large crowd of spectators who urged the team on throughout the day.


Final Scores:

Round 1

Parkview PS          3.3          5.7. (37)

Narrandera PS      0.0          1.0. (6)

Goals: J. Rourke 2, J. Ryan 2, J. McPhee 1

Best: J. Ryan, C. Browne, B. Ryan, T. Heins, C. Schmetzer, J. Rourke


Round 2

Parkview PS          3.2          4.5. (29)

Narrandera PS      1.1          2.2. (14)

Goals: J. Watson 1, K. O'Callaghan 1, C. Browne 1, J. Ryan 1

Best: C. Browne, J. Ryan, J. Watson, L. McPhee, C. Schmetzer, B. Ryan


Semi Final

Parkview PS          3.4          7.6. (48)

Beelbangera PS    0.0          1.0. (6)

Goals: J. Rourke 2, J. Watson 2, B. Spicer 1, T. McMillan 1, R. McClure 1

Best: J. Ryan, C. Browne, T.McMillan, B. Ryan, T. Heins, H. Gilmour


Grand Final

Parkview PS          2.1          3.2. (20)

Griffith East PS      1.8          2.12. (24)

Goals: J. Watson 1, J. Rourke 1, T. Heins 1

Best: J. Ryan, T.McMillan, C. Browne, B. Ryan, J.Rourke, M. Boardman