Older News  » Parkview secures first ever LNPSSA Basketball Title

Last updated 6:02 PM on 2 March 2017

LNPSSA Boys Basketball Champions


Parkview has enjoyed a successful day at the LNPSSA Basketball Championships, winning their first ever Boys Basketball title and going very close to winning its first ever Girls Basketball title at Narrandera Stadium on Wednesday.

Parkview met a determined Small Schools outfit in the opening fixture and despite a lop-sided scoreline, encountered strong resistance from their opponents. For Parkview Jaxon Ryan (28) and Blake Ryan (16) led all scorers while Bryce Robinson, Kobe O'Callaghan and Mason Boardman proved a handful for the opposition all over the court to help Parkview to a comfortable victory.

Boys Round 1

Parkview PS 86 (Jaxon Ryan 28, Blake Ryan 16, Cody Browne 10, Thomas Heins 8, James Rourke 8, Tallis McMillan 8, Mason Boardman 4, Bryce Robinson 2, Kobe O'Callaghan 2) defeated Small Schools 2


The LNPSSA Grand Final was a hard fought match, with excellent conversion from Parkview and dominance on the offensive boards proving the difference, Parkview winning its first ever LNPSSA Basketball title by 19 points. Jaxon Ryan was again dominant on the score sheet with 21 points while Parkview's fleet footed small brigade of Tallis McMillan, James Rourke, Cody Browne and Thomas Heins proved too much for the Narrandera defence to combat. Parkview progress to the Riverina Quarter Finals to be played later in the term.

Boys Grand Final

Parkview PS 41 (Jaxon Ryan 21, Blake Ryan 5, Thomas Heins 5, Tallis McMillan 4, Cody Browne 4, Mason Boardman 2) defeated Narrandera PS 22


The LNPSSA Girls Basketball was a closely fought event. Parkview comfortably accounted for an enthusiastic Small Schools team in the first round thanks to some excellent team play from Moe Lloyd, Shaylan Protheroe, Amelia Irvin and Dakota Boardman, progressing to the Grand Final with an 80 point victory.

Girls Round 1

Parkview PS 84 (Madeline Irvin 20, Shaylan Protheroe 16, Moe Lloyd 14, Tatum Marks 12, Dakota Boardman 10, Chelsea Paterson 8, Amelia Irvin 4) defeated Small Schools 4


The Grand Final against a tall and talented Narrandera outfit was a thrilling affair, with Parkview failing to convert early possession dominance into points which ultimately led to defeat. A narrow 2 point quarter time lead for Parkview evaporated early in the second term, the team trailing by 6 points at half time and 8 points at three quarter time. Consecutive baskets from Madeline Irvin (10 points) early in the final term cut the margin to just four, however Parkview couldn't quite match Narrandera's height and rebound capabilities despite spirited performances from Tatum Marks, Tamika Rourke and Chelsea Paterson, losing a thriller by 7 points.

Girls Grand Final

Parkview PS 19 (Madeline Irvin 10, Tatum Marks 6, Shaylan Protheroe 2, Chelsea Paterson 1) lost to Narrandera PS 26                                                                                                                                  


Following the finals, LNPSSA Boys and Girls Representative teams were announced to contest the Riverina Championships in May. 8 Parkview students were rewarded for their outstanding performances on the day. Congratulations is extended to Madeline Irvin, Tatum Marks, Tamika Rourke and Shaylan Protheroe who were selected in the girls team and Jaxon Ryan, Blake Ryan, Tallis McMillan and Cody Browne who were successful in being selected for the boys team.